Continuing Certification - Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment, and Skills

Currently there are two ways for ABOHNS diplomates to complete this requirement:
  • Diplomates can take the MOC Examination. This is a computerized, proctored exam at a Pearson VUE testing center administered in the area of choice. The exam is available once a year at no additional fee. Diplomates may select their exam content in the practice focus area of their choice. The MOC Exam is offered in the following areas:
    • Allergy/Rhinology
    • General Otolaryngology
    • Head and Neck
    • Laryngology
    • Otology
    • Pediatrics
    • Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
    • Neurotology (you must have an ABOHNS Neurotology subspecialty certificate to take this exam)
    • Sleep Medicine (you must have an ABOHNS Sleep subspecialty certificate to take this exam)
    While there are many study courses available for MOC examinations, the ABOHNS does not endorse, nor provide specific study material/resources for the exam.
  • The Diplomate can participate in our online Longitudinal Assessment Program (LAP) called CertLink. CertLink™ is an online program that presents approximately 10-15 practice focused questions per quarter that can be answered on your schedule. There is no additional fee to participate. We are currently still in the pilot phase, which will run through the end of 2020. Please CLICK HERE for more information on this program.
If you have any additional questions concerning this process, please contact our Continuing Certification (CC) team at or call 713-850-0399, and a CC Specialist will assist you.