Board of Directors

Directors are elected by the Board of Directors from the pool of current and former Senior Examiners based on a vacancy on the Board of Directors. They are selected based on personal qualities, leadership potential, collegiality, specialty area, performance on other ABOto activities, and geography, as well as other needs of the ABOto including diversity. Directors are eligible to serve two five year terms.

Board of Directors

Michael G. Stewart, MD, President
New York, New York

Clough Shelton, MD, President-Elect/Treasurer
Salt Lake City, Utah

Jeffrey M. Bumpous, MD
Louisville, Kentucky

Katheen C.Y. Sie, MD
Seattle, Washington

David W. Eisele, MD
Baltimore, Maryland

Stephen S. Park, MD
Charlottesville, Virinia

Ramon M. Esclamado, MD
Durham, North Carolina

John S. Rhee, MD
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Edward H. Farrior, MD
Tampa, Florida

Timothy L. Smith, MD
Portland, Oregon

Gaelyn C. Garrett, MD
Nashville, Tennessee

Steven A. Telian, MD
Ann Arbor, Michigan

C. Ron Cannon, MD
Jackson, Mississippi

Mark C. Weissler, MD
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Ira D. Papel, MD
Baltimore, Maryland

D. Bradley Welling, MD, PhD
Boston, Massachusetts

Ronald B. Kuppersmith, MD
College Station, Texas

Marlen R. Hansen, MD
Iowa City, Iowa

Executive Director
Robert H. Miller, MD, MBA
Houston, Texas

Diana L. Harrell